Monthly meetings for Bat Group members usually take place on the FIRST WEDNESDAY of each month (except June to avoid TT). Indoor meetings are 7.30pm (until 9.30-ish) in Knockaloe farm* meeting room, Patrick (SC238822). In the summer months this year we will be doing fieldwork roost counts (see dates for meeting points and times). Public bat walks are also listed below.

If you are not yet a member but would like to come along to the meetings, please see our membership page, where you can download a membership form.

9th March (Wednesday): Bats and biodiversity – bats and the Island's biodiversity action plans, Richard Selman, Knockaloe 7.30pm

Learn about the Island's Biodiversity Strategy and join the discussion on how bats should be incorporated into the action plans.

6th April (Wednesday): Sound analysis workshop, Bob Moon, Knockaloe 7.30pm

Get a refresher in or learn about identifying bats via computer analysis of recorded bat calls.

4th May (Wednesday): Roost count: Glen Vine 9pm

Fieldwork survey to count emerging bats at known roosts. Meet Marown School car park SC333786.

18th May (Wednesday): Roost count: Ballasalla 9.30pm

Fieldwork survey to count emerging bats at known roosts. Meet Commissioners' offices car park SC280700.

28th May (Saturday): Bat walk Lezayre 9.30pm

Meet at Churchtown loop road SC423941.

1st June (Wednesday): Roost count: Colby 9.30pm

Fieldwork survey to count emerging bats at known roosts. Meet Methodist Hall car park SC231700.

15th June (Wednesday): Roost count: Glen Vine 9.45pm

Fieldwork survey to count emerging bats at known roosts. Meet Marown School car park SC333786.

25th June (Saturday): Bat walk Glen Maye to Glen Rushen 10pm

Meet at the Glen May (waterfall) car park SC235797.

13th July (Wednesday): Roost count: Colby 9.45pm

Fieldwork survey to count emerging bats at known roosts. Meet Methodist Hall car park SC231700.

27th July (Wednesday): Roost count: Glen Vine 9.30pm

Fieldwork survey to count emerging bats at known roosts. Meet Marown School car park SC333786.

30th July (Saturday): Bat walk Ramsey woods 9.15pm

Meet at Ramsey hairpin SC449934.

10th August (Wednesday): Roost count: Ballasalla 9pm

Fieldwork survey to count emerging bats at known roosts. Meet Commissioners' offices car park SC280700.

24th August (Wednesday): Colby 8.30pm

Fieldwork survey to count emerging bats at known roosts. Meet Methodist Hall car park SC231700.

27th August (Saturday): International Bat Night bat walk Port Soderick 8.15pm

Meet in Port Soderick main car park (up the hill from the beach) SC346726.

24th September (Saturday): Bat walk Laxey 7pm

Meet in the Brown's Terrace car park SC432847.

5th October (Wednesday): Bats and churches, Julia Hanmer, BCT, Braddan New Church Hall 8pm

Our guest speaker from the Bat Conservation Trust will talk about surveying churches for bats and helping church communities live with their bats.

30th November (Wednesday): AGM and social Braddan New Church Hall 7.30pm

Our annual members’ get-together and AGM.
Drinks provided. Please bring food to share for the cold buffet.

Our next members' meeting will be in 2017. Check back for details.